The closing of a job involves only insertion of a date into the Date Closed field on the Enter or Change Jobs data entry screen. Access the screen for data entry of jobs and activities by selecting Jobs and Activities on the Select, Job Costing menu.
QUERY the job you want to close. With the job displayed, put the screen in the update mode by pressing the UPDATE <F4> button. TAB to the Date Closed field and enter the job's closing date. Finish your changes by pressing the STORE <F5> button.
Entering a date into the Date Closed field only marks the job as being closed on the date entered. The cost of the job remains in the work in process account until the Post Jobs / Work in Process process is run for the period in which the job was closed. At this point, the cost of the job is transferred back to the original expense accounts.