The Job Cost Journal contains the entries made to move job costs to and from the work in process account. These entries may be deleted to free up disk space. Care must be taken when doing this type of deletion because no changes can be made anywhere in the system in a period where any job cost journal entries have been deleted for that period. The following conditions must exist before an entry can be deleted.
The transaction date must be earlier than the deletion date. The process asks you to enter a deletion date. It deletes all transactions with dates earlier than the deletion date.
The job must exist. If the transaction references a deleted job, the transaction cannot be deleted. If you have deleted the job before deleting the job cost journal entries, just re-enter the appropriate job and give it a closing date earlier than the deletion date.
The closing date must be earlier than the deletion date. This is the date that is entered into the Date Closed field in the job record.
An example follows.